The street Taco

After spending many a night out in Mexico City with our local friend he finally took us back to the streets where the real good stuff is. Tacos from a street corner at some ungodly hour of the night. It’s simple food. It’s not unhealthy. It’s tasty and it’s super cheap. It’s SO good.

The classic below: The Pork Taco. A few onions. A squeeze of lime. Ugh, so good…

20131113-233836.jpg

We all sit around this tiny street stall, balancing our bums on the wobbly chairs. I love this kind of dining.

I chose the Chorizo Taco next.

20131113-234349.jpg

Most of my crew retire after this one, but I have to go for one more. There’s tongue on the menu, and after trying a tongue burger at one of Sydney’s fancy paces and absolutely loving it, I have to give this a go. Even though the entire cow tongue is lying in full view in front of us on the big hot plate, I need to give it a shot. Hit me!

20131113-234601.jpg

It’s everything I want it to be and more. Super tender, tasty, almost like a really slow cooked piece if beef and it doesn’t need hardly any condiments. Even our Flexitarian (mostly vegetarian with the odd exception) picks a little corner off and enjoys it. (I think?)
I personally think you can’t go wrong with street tacos, so be bold, try it all. It’s just really good, simple food.

Leave a Reply

